Body Image Inspiration

Standard

By transcending societal views of beauty, I believe that I can focus more on my actions. My attitude and thoughts and actions have more value in them than my body…

This comes from an online comment of a woman whose picture was posted online in order to make fun of her facial hair.

It was one of the most inspiring things I’ve come across in a long time. I love her ability not just to discard peer pressure, social pressure, whatever, but to so publicly come forward and identify herself as the person in this picture. I hope one day I can see myself as she sees herself. If I have children, I hope they will feel this way.

As much as I do admire and also find inspiring Lada Gaga and Christina Aguilera – they became famous having what society accepts as beauty. It’s different for an average person who has not had hordes of fans cheering them on.

Leave a Reply

