Headstand Success!

Standard

A teacher helped me into classical bound headstand yesterday – and I could totally get up and hold it with just a little bit of balance support. I’ve been practicing yoga for almost 3 years now and I’ve never gone up in this kind of headstand. Yay!

I already know most typical instructions or cues, even though I haven’t been able to get up into the pose. He had the added idea to lock your thumbs. I thought this would be hard to maintain, and would kind of change where I put my head in relation to my hands, but I think it actually helped. I’m afraid of falling over backwards in any kind of headstand (and in crow, somehow), and locking my thumbs made me feel like my head was more secure and I was less likely to tip over. In reality, my thumbs probably have pretty little to do with tipping over.

It turns out that I was not getting my hips up quite high enough for my feet to go up easily, and I also needed to bend just a little (forward-ish) at the hips. This sounds counter-intuitive, but it keeps my back straighter and also helps with balance.

It felt great! I was nervous but it was very cool to realize it’s not my arms or core preventing me from getting up. And once I was up, I could stay a while. It is not as if I was dreaming about the day I’d do classical bound headstand … but it is always nice to realize that you are already capable of something you didn’t expect.

2 responses »

  1. Congratulations! I know you’ve heard this millions of times before, but it’s all in the mind. Why wouldn’t we be able to stand on a surface which in total (including our forearms) is much bigger than our feet? Good luck with everything, I’m sure the other inversions will now come quickly!

    Andrea

  2. Thank you! Haha, I never thought about it that way, but very true. I suspect more inversions and even classical bound headstand on my own will take some time, but knowing that I can do it sure helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

